Haliburton Highlands In Ontario Canada Brings Out The Frontiersman In Visitors
Categories: Homes / Dwellings
Photos taken by Rachel Craig from Offgridhomestead.ca
The Museum was originally housed in the Reid in the old Reid House (built 1882), which was located on Park Street at Lot 11, Block T in the town plot of Haliburton. This is today where the north end of the Parklane Apartments stand. The Reid House was chosen for the Museum because it was one of the older homes in the village and it coincidently just happened to be for sale at the time.
The circumstances were perfect. Included with the purchase of the house by Rotary was the Reid Barn, which was ideal for display of lumber tools & implements. The Museum soon outgrew the confines of this little house, and by the mid to late 1970’s, the Museum committee was looking for a new site. In 1978 the plans were released for the present building; it was built in 1978-79, w. the official opening occurring in 1980, on the Dominion Day weekend. In the Spring of 1979, during construction of the new Museum building, the old Reid House was moved up to Glebe Park. Divested of its showcases & similar display props, it was refurbished as a period home. The Reid Barn was not stable enough to withstand the move, so it was demolished at that time.